Sloppy Joes

IMG_7343

Sloppy Joes are the quintessential kid comfort food. I’ve been a fan for as long as I can remember. When I was in elementary school, the community was invited to a sloppy joe supper. I remember it was a chilly spring evening, and I was hungry! As I buried my face into that soft bun, the warm, sweet meat filling oozed into my mouth. It was pure bliss. By chance, a newspaper reporter caught that first bite on film, and I made the front page!

20150701194156_00028A

I still love a good sloppy joe, but I am not a fan of the canned sloppy joe sauce. Sure, it is easy, but it has high fructose corn syrup and lots of thickeners like guar gum, xantham gum, and carob bean gum (not necessarily bad, but it makes you feel like you are getting more than you really are). And then there is the hamburger bun. Don’t get me started on those chemical-laden things. Here is a sloppy joe recipe that you can feel good about serving your family. Don’t forget to use my recipe for homemade buns!

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup onion, finely diced
1/2 cup green pepper, finely diced
1 carrot peeled and shredded
1 pound ground turkey, 93% lean or 1 pound ground beef, 93% lean
1 8oz. can tomato sauce, plain
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon yellow mustard
1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
1/2-3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

In a skillet, over medium-high heat, saute the onions and peppers in the olive oil for about 5 minutes, or until they start to soften. Add the shredded carrot and ground turkey or ground beef and cook until the meat is browned.

Add the remaining ingredients to the pan. Lower the heat to medium-low and simmer for about 10 minutes to let the flavors meld.

Remove from heat and serve on hamburger buns.

Makes 8-12 sloppy joes (depending on how full you fill them).

Leave a Reply

