Pumpkin Chili

pupmkin-chili

Fall is here, and that means pumpkin is flavoring everything! To say that I am a fan of pumpkin is an understatement! When I was at Sprouts last week I discovered they had pumpkin spice chicken sausage. What???? I was quite curious, and I am a sucker for anything pumpkin, so I bought 2 links. When I got home and looked on the internet for recipes using pumpkin chicken sausage the first Google results were all about how the pumpkin craze has gone too far. Delish had an article called “13 Pumpkin Spice Abominations That Will Make You Gag!” I have to admit that I was scared to try the pumpkin sausage after that, but I am not one to waste things, and I hadn’t even tried the stuff. I decided to use it in place of ground turkey in one of my favorite pumpkin chili recipes. You know what? It was delicious!!! The flavor of the sausage was mild. It was the perfect addition to the chili.

Today I share my favorite chili recipe with you. It comes together in less than 30 minutes, is full of veggies, low in fat, and full of flavor. The recipe is mild enough that kids like it, but you can easily spice it up by adding more chili powder or a chopped jalapeno. If you don’t feel like trying the pumpkin spice chicken sausage, use ground turkey. If you are craving a bowl of hearty chili, this recipe will not disappoint!

Ingredients:

1 TBSP olive oil
1 pound ground turkey or 1 pound pumpkin spiced chicken sausage (with casing removed)
1 green pepper, diced
1 small onion, diced
1 tsp minced garlic
1 can kidney beans, undrained
1 can diced tomatoes with green chiles (or just plaine diced tomatoes to reduce the spiciness)
1 can pumpkin puree or 2 cups homemade pumpkin puree
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt (or more to taste)
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Add the tablespoon of olive oil to a large pot and heat over medium heat. Add the ground turkey or sausage (Squeeze the sausage out of the casing directly into the pot). Add green pepper and onion. Cook until the meat is browned and the veggies are slightly softened. Add minced garlic and cook for one more minute.

Next add beans, tomatoes, pumpkin, and spices. Give it a good stir and let the chili simmer until it is nice and thick (about 15-20 minutes).

Top with green onions and sour cream, if desired.

Serve with Pumpkin Cornbread.

 

Leave a Reply

