Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

I am obsessed with Greek food! My Italian grandparents on my mom’s side fostered my love of good Mediterranean fare. Although I didn’t grow up on hummus, I became an instant fan when the hummus craze kicked in several years ago. I’ve tried many different recipes to varying degrees of success. I’ve found that the ultimate hummus has tahini in it, but at $5/jar, it isn’t something I always have on hand. I ran across a recipe from Penzeys Spice a few years ago that I love. It does not have tahini, but the flavor is still really good. Grab some veggie sticks or pita chips and dig in!

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
*adapted from Penzeys Spice Garlic and Red Pepper Hummus

1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained or rinsed
1/2 cup roasted red pepper (about 1 large)
5 TBSP olive oil
1 TBSP water
2 TBSP lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp paprika

Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. If needed, add another tablespoon of water or olive oil to reach the desired consistency. Sprinkle with more paprika and oregano and drizzle a little olive oil on top to serve.

I like to eat mine with carrots or celery or baked pita chips. To make the chips, cut a pita into wedges. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 5 minutes, or until toasted.

Leave a Reply

