Making Something Out of Nothing

Today I found myself staring into a near empty refrigerator trying to figure out what to make for lunch. I have been planning on going to the grocery store, but I was putting it off because I dread going to the store with all 3 kids in tow. So I had to get creative. I had a leftover pork chop, about 2 TBSP of leftover pineapple chili glaze from dinner the other night, the leafy tops of a few celery sticks, 1/2 a cucumber, and 1/2 of a red pepper.

My thought was…I can make something Asian. I have Ramen Noodles in my food storage. I am not a fan of them. Have you ever read the list of ingredients on the package? Not something I want to be eating, but my husband and kids love them. I removed the MSG filled seasoning packet and cooked the noodles in some boiling water. I chopped the celery tops and threw them in the water along with a handful of dehydrated carrots from my food storage.When the noodles were cooked I drained them and added the pineapple chili glaze, a few dashes of liquid aminos, and the pork chop which I had cut into tiny pieces. I topped it all with some cucumber slices and red pepper chunks. It was AMAZING! The kids slurped it right up, and Jay told me several times how good it was.

This just goes to show that all you need is a little creativity and resourcefulness to put together a yummy meal. The key is knowing what ingredients pair well together.

For example, with a few basic ingredients, you can make most any Asian dish…soy sauce (or liquid aminos), sesame oil, fish sauce, garlic and ginger (fresh is best, but the bottled stuff or even powdered of both of these ingredients will work), rice wine vinegar, and citrus juice (lime, lemon, orange, or pineapple). If you have these ingredients in your pantry, you can combine any protein, starch, or vegetable to make a yummy Asian dish. The same principle works for Mexican dishes (onions, garlic, bell peppers, salsa) and Italian (tomatoes, garlic, onions, basil, oregano).

Give it a try. I would love to hear about the dishes you come up with! Who knows, it may become a new family favorite.

Leave a Reply

