Berries

berry_basketAhhhh, summer. One of my favorite things about the season is fresh berries. Blueberries are my favorite, but raspberries and strawberries are delicious too. Nothing beats a vine ripened berry. I want to share a few tricks with you on keeping your berries fresh.

Have you ever forgotten about a package of berries for a day or two and come back to find a few of them have mold on them? When you bring home fresh berries soak them in a solution of 1/2 cup white vinegar and 4 cups of water for a few minutes. Then rinse and dry. I like to do this in my salad spinner. To keep them freshest, store the berries in their original container because those containers have ventilation holes which prevent moisture from building up inside of the carton.

I buy  lots of summer fruit on sale and freeze it for later. I use frozen blueberries all year long in muffins, bread, pancakes, and smoothies. But one thing I do not like is the multiple step process of washing the berries, drying them, laying them on a cookie sheet, freezing them, and then transferring them to a plastic freezer bag. This is supposed to help the fruit not freeze in a clump. That is much too much effort! One day I just decided to put the blueberries directly into a freezer bag. Since they weren’t wet, they didn’t freeze in a giant clump. When I want to use them in a recipe, I measure out what I need into a colander and rinse them off in cool water. This saves me so much time and effort! Raspberries and strawberries can be frozen the same way (just remove the stems from the strawberries and leave them whole).

What is your favorite berry?

 

2 thoughts on “Berries

  1. My favorute are Blueberries followed closely by raspberries. We have found that price matching is what saves us the most money. Thanks for the tips! I need to explore sprouts app more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

