Why I Canceled My Newspaper Subscription

shutterstock_coupon

I have been a faithful coupon clipper for over a decade. Growing up I remember sitting with my mom on Sunday afternoons clipping coupons together and sorting through her small accordion file searching for coupons that had expired. After we moved to Colorado Springs nearly 7 years ago I signed up for a subscription to the Gazette and another subscription to the Denver Post (they offer different coupons). I’ve been dutifully clipping coupons and proudly saving money all of that time, but the world of couponing has changed. When the economy took a downturn in 2008 many people began clipping coupons to save money. TV shows like “Extreme Couponing” showed people purchasing cart loads of ketchup, toilet paper, boxed dinners for pennies using coupons, but over the past few years I have noticed fewer and fewer amazing deals to be had using coupons. Couple that with the fact that most coupons are for highly processed food, and I decided that it was not worth my time to clip coupons from the newspaper each week.
Does that mean that I have stopped using coupons altogether? NO! I use more digital coupons. King Soopers has great digital coupons. Every Friday they have a digital coupon for something free called the Free Friday Download. King Soopers also sends me coupons in the mail called “Best Customer Bonus,” and they are tailored to the items I frequently buy, another reason I love Kroger. (I promise I am not being compensated by the company to say these things!)
Safeway also has a good selection of digital coupons, and I recently discovered that Sprouts has a new App with digital coupons.
Also, you can print coupons from sites like Coupons.com. Although I admit, I don’t do this as often as I used to. Now I maybe do this once every couple of months.
Leave a Reply

